Pendulum mark their return with release of anticipated ‘The Reworks’ album


Featuring remixes from Noisia, Skrillex, Moby, Devin Townsend, Icarus, Matrix & Futurebound, Knife Party and more


Pendulum will be headlining the BBC Radio 1 Stage at Reading & Leeds Festival

“This is huge” - MTV


Out now

Stream on YouTube


Order the ‘Complete Works’ physical copies here:


The mighty Pendulum - one of the world’s most popular drum & bass acts of all time - have announced the release of their new album, ‘The Reworks’; a dynamic and vivid interpretation of the band’s greatest hits, out today via their own label, Earstorm.


A project unlike any other before, ‘The Reworks’ officially marks the end of Pendulum’s 7 year hiatus; and follows the band’s blistering sell-out at London’s Printworks in April of this year and a run of sold out Australian dates in Brisbane, Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth and Sydney.

Speaking on their return, the band’s iconic frontman Rob Swire said “I knew that if we came back, we’d have to make changes, it had to be a completely fresh start.”


When word of The Reworks got out, American superstar Skrillex was at the front of the queue, having long had his eye on remixing ‘The Island Part I’. To Rob’s delight, Canadian hard rocker Devin Townsend nabbed Crush. “Devin is an idol to me and [band mate] Gareth (McGrillen),” he says. “Production-wise, songwriting-wise, everything. When we were writing the first Pendulum album, we were obsessed with him. We’d listen to his music and wonder how anyone could make something so brutal. The level of aggression he captures is psychotic.”


The remix album features 13 colossal Pendulum songs, from early singles ‘Tarantula’ and ‘Streamline’ to In Silico’s ‘Granite’ and huge Top 10 hit ‘Propane Nightmares’ to Immersion’s ‘Witchcraft’ and ‘Watercolour’. A handful were suggested - Moby tackles ‘Vault’, Dutch DJ Eelke Kleijn turned in a monstrous ‘9000 Miles’ that took even Rob aback. Icarus’ ‘Tarantula’ remix is another of Rob’s favourites – he had tweeted about the Bristol-based brothers’ song ‘No Sleep’, hence their invitation to contribute. Pegboard Nerds, a Danish/Norwegian duo with whom Rob is friends, wanted ‘Witchcraft’. American producer Grabbitz won the battle for ‘Propane Nightmares’.


“No one was given guidelines – that’s not what I wanted,” says Rob. “I was happy for people to tear the songs apart. That’s what I would do.”


There will also be a very special limited run of the ‘Complete Works Deluxe’ packages. The Deluxe will be presented in a holographic laser cut box featuring the bands logo and include the 4 albums on vinyl alongside a 4 CD photo booklet focusing on the bands key moments and memories; from the history of their inception, highlights of their decade-plus spanning career, right through to the present day.   


Also announced is Pendulum’s return to one of the UK’s biggest events - Reading and Leeds Festival. Playing the BBC Radio 1 stage - the same slot they graced the last time they played in 2010 - the group will headline the August event, marking an exciting new chapter in their relaunch.


With ‘The Reworks’ out today and more headline performances scheduled across the summer, many fans will want to know whether this marks the start of something more permanent, Rob had this to say -

"New music is coming, hopefully this year, but we’ll see. It’s still a surprise to me that I’m making it at all. There’s no using material I had from the past. It has to be a completely fresh start.”


"It’s still a mix and match of recording on real instruments and synthesising them. But yes, it will be different. There’s a new song we have that we’re very happy with, so we know the direction we’re taking.”


About Pendulum


Pendulum first released their debut album ‘Hold Your Colour’ in 2005, and, thanks to  singles like ‘Tarantula’ and ‘Slam’, the album reached platinum status in the UK, catapulting the band into the limelight as the most exciting D&B act in the industry. Pendulum were able to maintain this momentum with follow up album ‘In Silico’ in 2008, which reached number #2 on the UK charts and featured the massive track ‘Propane Nightmares’ – the second of the act’s two UK top 10 singles.


Releasing ‘Immersion’ in 2010 continued the band’s success; they hit the coveted number #1 spot on the album chart as the release went platinum and Pendulum embarked on a full scale, world tour, playing two sold-out shows at London’s Wembley Arena and headline slots at some of the UK’s largest festivals including Glastonbury, T in the Park, Bestival, Download and Radio 1’s Big Weekend.


This exciting announcement marks the beginning of a new era for Pendulum, who have long been considered one of electronic music’s most important and pioneering acts, famed for their no-holds-barred live shows.


‘The Reworks’ album is available now




Order the ‘Complete Works’ and physical copies here:

Pendulum - The Reworks - Tracklist:

01 - Pendulum: Hold Your Colour (Noisia Remix)

02 - Pendulum: Blood Sugar (Knife Party Remix)

03 - Pendulum: 9,000 Miles (Eelke Kleijn Remix)

04 - Pendulum: The Island Pt. I (Skrillex Remix)

05 - Pendulum: Propane Nightmares (Grabbitz Remix)

06 - Pendulum: Crush (Devin Townsend Remix)

07 - Pendulum: Tarantula (Icarus Remix)

08 - Pendulum: Witchcraft (Pegboard Nerds Remix)

09 - Pendulum: Watercolour (Matrix & Futurebound Remix)

10 - Pendulum: The Island Pt. I (AN21 Remix)

11 - Pendulum: Still Grey (DJ Seinfeld Remix)

12 - Pendulum: Vault (Moby Remix)

13 - Pendulum: Streamline (ATTLAS Remix)



Related news stories


There are currently no comments

Post New Comments